Gung Hay Fat Choy!!

3 Feb

Happy Chinese New Year!!  If the “day the music died” post got you down, fret not.  Today is a day of celebration!  Today marks the new year in the Chinese calendar – the Year of the Rabbit.  So go out, get some Chinese food and have some fun!

I hate to admit that I do not really have that much music in my library by Chinese artists.  However, I am a fan of CHOPS.  He is a producer who has worked with acts such as Lil’ Wayne, Chamillionaire, Young Jeezy, and Bun B.  Here are a couple of songs from the funny movie “Ping Pong Playa.”

CHOPS – “Chinese School”

CHOPS – “I Like Cereal”

If you remember way back in 2004 a Chinese-American rapper by the name of Jin hit the scene when he joined Ruff Ryders after winning BET’s Freestyle Fridays  7 weeks in a row.  This following song is produced and features Kanye West.  It is one of the few Jin songs that I like. It is really good, and was going to be a single, but Roc-A-Fella Records did not want to overexpose Kanye yet. So, who knows, maybe Jin would have actually been more than a (semi) one hit wonder.

Jin featuring Kanye West – “I Got A Love”

The final song is called “I’ve Got That Tune” by Chinese Man.  They are not Chinese – actually French – but I think it’s a catchy song.

Chinese Man – I ‘ve Got That Tune

Leave a Reply

