Unrest in Middle East

26 Feb

Hopefully everyone is paying attention to the goings on in the Middle East.  Political unrest, or perhaps revolution if you are more radically-minded has been occurring throughout the region.  Now this is a music blog, so political thoughts will be left out.  I just think it’s important to know what is happening in the world.

When I get up in the morning, I usually check my email/rss feeds/the news.  I use my radio as an alarm, and often I just leave it on after I get up.  A few days ago I was reading about the uprising in Libya when Linkin Park’s “Waiting for the End” came on the radio.  For whatever reason, I felt there was a strong emotional connection between the song and the news.  I made a quick slideshow with this thought in mind.  The pictures are from the Boston Globe’s Big Picture photo blog.  If you did not know about it, definitely check it out – as they say, a picture is worth a thousand words.  The images are often very moving.

The lyrics, with their hopeful, melancholy tone (from a fairly apocalyptic-themed album) and the corresponding music match very well with the images I found from Big Picture.   I am not trying to make a political statement with this video.  I just think it adds to the effect of the pictures.  For example the lyrics “holding on to what I haven’t got” correspond with the yearning for freedom that the protesters are experiencing.  They desperately want it, but have yet to know it.  Anyway, keep an open mind if you have a strong political feelings on this.

Waiting for the End of Political Unrest in Middle East from immunetoiocane on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

